Varsity Cup’s Pink Ball

In 2016, Varsity Cup is honouring former Varsity Cup players who have gone on to reach the heights of international rugby, by etching their names onto the iconic pink Varsity Cup ball.

Springbok players whose name’s can be seen on the pink ball include: Juan de Jongh, Jaco Taute, Coenie Oosthuizen, JJ Engelbrecht, Eben Etzebeth, Arno Botha, Vincent Koch, Trevor Nyakane, Lourens Adriaanse, Marnitz Boshoff, Marcel van der Merwe, Oupa Mohoje, Handré Pollard, Lood de Jager, Damian de Allende, Nizaam Carr, Rudy Paige, Ruan Combrinck, Franco Mostert, Jaco Kriel, Bongi Mbonambi, Malcolm Marx, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Jamba Ulengo, Uzair Cassiem.

The pink ball will be in play for two minutes following the strategy break. Should the home team score a try within those two minutes, Varsity Cup sponsors will donate R10,000 to the home team’s charity of choice. For Varsity Shield the same applies, while sponsors of Varsity Shield will donate R5,000.

Back to Top