VISHUIS receive the winners trophy. 2017 STEINHOFF KOSHUIS FINAL, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday, 17 APRIL 2017
STEINHOFF VISHUIS vs STEINHOFF PATRIA at Tuks Rugby Field, Pretoria, Gauteng.


Steinhoff Vishuis secure fifth title in Pretoria

NWU Pukke Koshuis Rugby, Shimlas Koshuis Rugby, Steinhoff KoshuisRugby No Comments on Steinhoff Vishuis secure fifth title in Pretoria 20

Steinhoff Vishuis claimed their fifth Steinhoff Koshuis Championship title when they beat Steinhoff Patria 25-10 (halftime 13-5) at the Tuks Rugby Stadium on Monday, 17 April 2017.

The Easter weekend rains stayed away to allow Steinhoff Vishuis to solidify their position as the best university koshuis rugby team in South Africa after claiming their fifth title in their sixth finals appearance.

It was Steinhoff Patria who started the stronger of the teams as they ran straight and hard at their opposition but it was Steinhoff Vishuis who scored the first points of the final through lock Charl du Toit who burrowed over from a rolling maul. Flyhalf Dale de Wet duly added the extras.

Steinhoff Patria responded minutes later when centre Wilbri Gunter crossed for a five-pointer.

It was Steinhoff Vishuis who had the final say in the first half when fullback AJ Brits crashed over for a try. De Wet could not add the extras which meant the men from Bloemfontein went into the halftime break 13-5 up.

Steinhoff Patria started the second forty in much the same fashion as the first with the Potchefstroom koshuis opting to run at all costs but Steinhoff Vishuis did exceptionally well to keep them at bay.

Centre Wian van der Walt spotted a mammoth gap on the visitor’s five-metre line and took it with both hands to run in untouched in the 44th minute to give Steinhoff Vishuis the breathing space they needed. De Wet converted to hand the home team a comfortable 21-5 lead.

Scrumhalf Garann Kriek pulled back a try for the visitors in the 60th minute but their kicking let them down again as the conversion sailed wide.

De Wet kicked a penalty on the stroke of fulltime to add to his earlier second half penalty to seal the match and give his team the honour of lifting the Steinhoff Koshuis Championship trophy for an incredible fifth time.

Steinhoff Incredible Player of the Match: Charl du Toit (Steinhoff Vishuis)


Steinhoff Vishuis: 25
Tries: Charl du Toit, AJ Brits, Wian van der Walt
Cons: Dale de Wet (2)
Pens: De Wet (2)

Yellow card: Ruan Janse van Rensburg

Steinhoff Patria: 10
Tries: Wilbri Gunter, Garann Kriek.


Steinhoff Vishuis: 15. AJ Brits, 14. Ruan Janse van Rensburg, 13. Wian van der Walt, 12. SW van Wyk, 11. Thato Mei, 10. Dale de Wet, 9. Derick Minnie, 8. Frank Ferreira, 7. Christiaan Swanepoel, 6. Nelius van Heerden, 5. Stephen Botha (c), 4. Charl du Toit, 3. Stefa Burger, 2. Roelof Strauss, 1. Louis-Martin Cloete.
Replacements: 16. Petrus Nienaber, 17. Steph Brits, 18. Dirk Swanepoel, 19. Rholane Ncubaka, 20. Henco Meyers, 21. Dean Bubb, 22. Mario Vieira, 23. Mornë van Staden.

Steinhoff Patria: 15. Lodewyk Kleynhans, 14. Frans Janse van Nieuwenhuizen, 13. Wilbri Gunter, 12. Brendan du Plessis, 11. JJ van Huyssteen, 10. GM Bruwer, 9. Garann Kriek, 8. Hendrik du Plessis (c), 7. Stefan Bergh, 6. Awie Engelbrecht, 5. Christopher Durow, 4. Mauritz Bezuidenhout, 3. Marthinus de Villiers, 2. Ruan Groenewald, 1. Almeru van Wyk.
Replacements: 16. Jan Senekal, 17. Jan Hendrik Muller, 18. Louis Winter, 19. Elric Pretorius, 20. Cornelius Muller, 21. Adriaan Labuschagne, 22. Maghiel le Roux, 23. Armando van Wyk.

By Dan Lombard

Related Articles

Back to Top