UCT scrum half Dylan-Lee Tidbury during a Varsity Rugby Match held at UCT, Monday 22 February, 2016.
Photo by: Halden Krog/SASPA

FNB Ikey Tigers looking to start well

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, Ikeys No Comments on FNB Ikey Tigers looking to start well 111

With the start of the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International only a few days away, fans and players alike know how important it is to hit the ground running. After a good few months of preseason training, the FNB Ikey Tigers are ready to do just that.

Things are looking good for the boys in stripes after topping off their preseason with a win against FNB UWC last Saturday, which was another opportunity for the team to learn and improve on any mistakes made before the Varsity Cup kicks off. “There really is a positive vibe around the camp. This team has come a long way since we started gyming back in October,” explained Christiaan Esterhuizen.

“I’m hoping that this team will be more skilful and more mature,” he added.

Esterhuizen also spoke of his team being filled with belief ahead of Monday’s opener against FNB Madibaz. “We’re super prepared for the game; we can’t do much more. All we need now is for the players to go out and execute everything on the field, but we really do have the belief that we can do well in this game,” he said.

“Our initial goal is to start well. We’ll sit down after our first two games and look at our gaols again, but for now all we want to do is start well,” Esterhuizen said.

In terms of the team, there are some players for whom Monday will be the first taste of Varsity Cup action. “We have some new faces in the team. They’re still younger, I think our average age is around twenty-one and a half years old. So we’ve still got a young team, but they’re still more experienced.

The FNB IKey Tigers are set to take on FNB Madibaz on Monday, the 30th of January 2017 at 18:30 at Florida Park.

FNB UCT starting XV to face FNB Madibaz
15 Rob Anderson, 14 Seb Roodt, 13 Suwi Chibale, 12 Rico Lategan, 11 Joel Smith, 10 Lohan Lube, 9 Stef de Gouveia, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Jason Klaassen (C), 5 Duncan Saffy, 4 Gary Porter, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Waryin Losper

16 Msizi Zondi, 17 Marty Chandler, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazebuko, 19 Nama Xaba, 20 Sanele Malwane, 21 Hilio de Abreu, 22 Ibbie Adams, 23 Jez Mcintyre


By Wessley Thring

Related Articles

Back to Top