Screen Shot 2016-03-24 at 9.09.06 PM

FNB Madibaz Young Guns fire their way to a 42-18 dismantling of FNB CUT Young Guns

CUT Young Guns, FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, NMMU Young Guns, Young Guns News No Comments on FNB Madibaz Young Guns fire their way to a 42-18 dismantling of FNB CUT Young Guns 358

The FNB Madibaz scored six tries to the FNB CUT’s two, defeating the Free State men 42-18 at Rand Stadium on Monday afternoon.

This match was on a knife’s edge in the opening 20 minutes, with both FNB Madibaz and FNB CUT looking good. Both sides showed composure and the score was level at 8-8 after 20 minutes, with the score a true reflection of the game.

The match continued in similar fashion when play resumed after the strategy break and the teams played another 20 minutes of balanced rugby, and upon the referees whistle sounding for half time it was 13-10 in favour of FNB Madibaz, who were narrowly edging their opponents.

Well into the second half, FNB Madibaz found themselves sitting pretty at 29-10 but FNB CUT showed no signs of surrender nor retreat. The boys from Bloem tried their best to breach FNB Madibaz’s defensive line, but failed. With 20 minutes on the clock FNB CUT eventually managed to better their chase when they made it 29-18, however FNB Madibaz were not about to surrender their lead and they found a quick response to lead 37-18.

In the final 15 minutes of the match the FNB Madibaz managed to push the score up to 42-18 to put the game to bed.


FNB Madibaz: 42

Tries: Courtney Winnaar, Panxe Yaw, Athenkosi Mahinje (2), Duan Du Plessis, Tiaan Coetzee

Cons: Jordan Koekemoer (2), Garrick Mattheus (2)



Tries: Jean Smal, Stephanus Vermaark

Cons: Eben Nieuwoudt, Theunis la Grange

Pens: Eben Nieuwoudt


FNB Madibaz:
15 Courtney Winnaar, 14 Panxe Yaw, 13 Oyisa Hatchula, 12 Jordan Koekermoer, 11 Athenkosi Mayinje, 10 Mattheus Garrick, 9 Yomelela Keswa, 8 Malulo Sadiki, 7 Duan du Plessis, 6 Lutho Selem, 5 Kamvelihle Dilima, 4 Robert Lyons, 3 Kuhle Mokhoabane, 2 Tiaan Coetzee, 1 Xandre Vos

16 Jacques Barkhuizen, 17 Anele Songca, 18 Carolus van Niekerk, 19 Wickus van Rooyen, 20 Kavan Trzebiatowsky, 21 Wayne Moss, 22 Sandile Mantantana, 23 Joshua Shelley

15 Eben Nieuwoudt, 14 Denzil Fiff, 13 Gerhardus Potgieter, 12 Desmond Robertson, 11 Theunis la Grange, 10 Denver Kleu, 9 Charl Hugo, 8 Gerhardus Nel, 7 Jean Smal, 6 Clinton Moloi, 5 Alessandro Trelawney, 4 Lovien Esterhuizen, 3 Simbulele Mnweba, 2 LW Viljoen, 1 Ben-Hendrik Jansen van Vuuren

16 Janco van Zyl, 17 Ambrogio Re, 18 Kian Skippers, 19 Marius Kruger, 20 Duncan Horak, 21 Kylan Griqua, 22 McDyllon Eilerd, 23 Stephanus Vermaak


By Mxolisi Mkhabela

Related Articles

Back to Top