Duncan R Saal  (Maties No14) running hard at the Pukke - 2017 Varsity Cup, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday 13 February 2017
FNB MATIES vs FNB NWU-Puk at the Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch, Western Cape

Photo by: Liam Hamer Nel

FNB Maties get their revenge, thumping FNB Pukke

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, Maties, NWU Pukke No Comments on FNB Maties get their revenge, thumping FNB Pukke 303

The FNB Maties restored some pride on Monday evening when they beat defending champions, FNB NWU Pukke 31-9 at a packed Danie Craven Stadium. FNB Maties got their sweet revenge over the men from Potchefstroom for last year’s FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International final, where FNB Pukke won the trophy in added time.

FNB Maties were superb from the get go, scoring within the first four minutes of the match, through Mitchell Carstens, that set the tone for the rest of the match. The Maroon Machine dominated possession, as FNB Pukke hung on desperately on defence.

FNB Maties led 15-0 at the first strategy break, while the home side took a 18-9 lead at half time. Ernst Stapelberg’s boot proved to be vital again for FNB Maties as he slotted penalties from all over the ground to increase his side’s lead.

A 72nd minute try by winger Edwill van der Merwe sealed the much-needed win for FNB Maties as they won their second home game on the trot. Flanker Kobus van Dyk got his second man of the match reward in as many games.

FNB Player That Rocks: Kobus van Dyk (FNB Maties)

FNB Maties: 31
Tries: Mitchell Carstens, Kobus van Dyk, Edwill van der Merwe
Cons: Ernst Stapelberg, Chris Smith
Pens: Ernst Stapelberg (4)

Tries: Jimmy Mpallane (seven-point try)
Cons: Schalk Hugo

FNB Maties starting XV:
15 Tiaan Swanepoel, 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Kyle Steyn, 12 Braam Venter ©, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Devon Nash, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Mitchell Carstens, 5 Johan Momsen, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 JE van der Merwe, 2 Craig Corbett, 1 Wesley Adonis

Subs: 16 HJ Luus, 17 Niel Oelofse, 18 Wikus Groenewald, 19 Saud Abrahams, 20 Stephan Streicher,
21 Logan Boonzaaier, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Michal Hazner

FNB NWU-Pukke starting XV: 15 Lungelo Gosa, 14 Jimmy Mpallane, 13 Nico Schoeman, 12 Henko Marias, 11 Tapiwa Mafura, 10 Schalk Hugo, 9 Bradley September, 8 Jeandre Rudolph ©, 7 Boela Venter, 6 Muziwandile Mazibuko, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Nell Morrison, 3 Dewald Dekker, 2 Arnoldi Wilmar, 1 Dolf van Deventer

Subs: 16 Louis van der Westhuizen, 17 Nico van Tonder, 18 Morne Strydom, 19 Marno Redelinghuys, 20 Marcel Henn, 21 Joshua Louw, 22 Kulu Mcuma, 23 Justin Newman.

By Andre Huisamen

Related Articles

Back to Top