Edwill Charl van der Merwe  (Maties No11) trying to run around his opponent - 2017 Varsity Cup, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday 06 February 2017
FNB MATIES vs FNB WITS at the Danie Craven Stadium, Stellenbosch, Western Cape

Photo by: Liam Hamer Nel

FNB Maties scramble past passionate FNB Wits

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, Maties, Wits No Comments on FNB Maties scramble past passionate FNB Wits 438

FNB Maties were made to work hard for their first victory of the 2016 FNB Varsity Cup, presented by Steinhoff International, when they beat FNB Wits 26-14 at Danie Craven Stadium on Monday night.

FNB Maties scored two quick tries at the beginning at the second half to break the FNB Wits defence who held firm until half time. FNB Maties held a slender 6-5 lead at the break but came out firing in the second half.

The men from Stellenbosch were dealt a massive blow in the 51st minute when flanker, Janco Venter received his second yellow card of the match and in the process a red card. This led FNB Wits back into the match and they came into touching distance through the boot of Warren Gilbert as FNB Maties led 20-14 at the second strategy break.

Ernst Stapelberg proved to be the difference in the end as he converted two more penalties to give FNB Maties a 12-point victory.

FNB Player That Rocks: Kobus van Dyk (Maties)


FNB Maties: 26

Tries: Craig Corbett (five-point), Kyle Steyn (seven-point)

Cons: Ernst Stapelberg

Pens: Ernst Stapelberg (4)

FNB Wits: 14

Tries: Jethro de Lange (five-point)

Drop goals: Warren Gilbert

Pens: Warren Gilbert (2)



FNB Maties starting XV: 15 Craig Barry, 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Kyle Steyn, 12 Braam Venter, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Kobus van Dyk, 7 Janco Venter, 6 Mitchell Carstens, 5 Ernst van Reyn, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Christiaan Hamman, 2 Craig Corbett, 1 Niël Oelofse

  1. HJ Luus, 17 Jake Blew, 18 Wikus Groenewald, 19 Saud Abrahams, 20 Devon Nash, 21 Logan Boonzaaier, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Michal Haznar

FNB Wits starting XV: 15 Luxolo Ntsepe, 14 Peabo Ngema, 13 Johannes van Blerk, 12 Benjamin Hewitt, 11 Christian Jarvis, 10 James Gilbert, 9 Ruan Cloete, 8 Jeathro de Lange, 7 Constant Beckerling, 6 Ruan Macdonald, 5 Rhyno Herbst, 4 Johan Logan, 3 Phindile Pupuma, 2 CJ Conradie, 1 Jacobus Greeff

16 Carl Brandon, 17 James Palmer, 18 Ludwig Snyman, 19 Conor-Terrah Brockschmidt, 20 Jarred Branco, 21 Lwazi Monakali, 22 Themba Mpemvu, 21 Ameer Williams.


By Andre Huisamen

Related Articles

Back to Top