2017 Varsity Cup, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday, 13 February 2017
FNB UP-TUKS vs FNB MADIBAZ at Tuks Rugby Field

Impi Visser, of FNB UP-TUKS


FNB Tuks put FNB Madibaz to the sword

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, NMMU, Tuks No Comments on FNB Tuks put FNB Madibaz to the sword 244

FNB UP-Tuks scored five tries to one as they eased past FNB Madibaz 33-16 (half time 21-3) in Round Three of the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International.

The impending storm stayed away to allow a first half conducive to running rugby which both teams exploited. FNB UP-Tuks had to shake off the rust from their bye in Round Two after FNB Madibaz scored an early penalty courtesy of flyhalf Simon Bolze’s boot.

FNB UP-Tuks replied with three tries to inside centre, Impi Visser, scrumhalf Theo Maree and flyhalf, Tinus de Beer. Visser ran a perfect line to cut the defence to ribbons while Maree scored off the back of a dominant scrum in the 15th minute.

FNB Madibaz spent the rest of the half scrambling in defence as FNB UP-Tuks continued to ply the pressure on the men from Port Elizabeth. The dam broke a minute before half-time when De Beer crossed from close quarters and sunk his third conversion to give his team a 21-3 lead at the break.

FNB Madibaz got stuck in early in the second half as Bolze kicked another two penalties as the visitors started to find their feet.

FNB UP-Tuks appeared to be shell-shocked with FNB Madibaz’s resurgence but this was nullified by replacement fullback Manie Libbok who scored a brace to put the match out of reach. FNB Madibaz did not stop pushing and were rewarded with a try by lock Gerrit Huisamen.

FNB UP-Tuks next travel to Johannesburg to face FNB UJ in Round Four of the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International. Kick-off is scheduled for 19:00.

FNB Player that Rocks: Impi Visser (FNB UP-Tuks)

FNB UP-Tuks: 33

Tries: Impi Visser, Theo Maree, Tinus de Beer, Manie Libbok (2)
Cons: de Beer (3), Joshua Stander

FNB Madibaz: 16
Try: Gerrit Huisamen; Con: Simon Bolze
Pen: Simon Bolze (3)

FNB UP-Tuks: 15. Divan Rossouw, 14. Dewald Naude, 13. Toko Maebane, 12. Impi Visser, 11. Sibahle Maxwane, 10. Tinus de Beer, 9. Theo Maree, 8. Clyde Davids, 7. Chris Massyn (c), 6. Eduan Lubbe, 5. Aston Fortuin, 4. Brian Leitch, 3. Neethling Fouche, 2. Jan-Henning Campher, 1. Andrew Beerwinkel.

Subs: 16. Theuns Reynolds, 17. O’Neil Thiart, 18. Marius Verwey, 19. Jsuan-Re Swanepoel, 20. Raegen Oranje, 21. Joshua Stander, 22. Manie Libbok, 23. Franco van den Berg.

FNB Madibaz:  15. Lindelwu Zungu, 14. Jixie Molapo, 13. Siphumelele Msutwana, 12. Andile Jho, 11. Athi Mayinje, 10. Simon Bolze, 9. Luvo Claassen, 8. Kevin Kaba (c), 7. Henry Brown, 6. SF Nieuwoudt, 5. Gerrit Huisamen, 4. Janse Roux, 3. James Beyl, 2. JP Jamieson, 1. Nicolaas Oosthuizen.

Subs: 16. Jedwyn Harty, 17. Xandre Vos, 18. Nicolas Roebeck, 19. Jayson Reinecke, 20. Rouche Nel, 21. Jordan Koekemoer, 22. Ivan-John du Preez, 23. Robert Izaks.

By Dan Lombard

Related Articles

Back to Top