FNB Tuks stroll past FNB Wits

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, Tuks, Wits No Comments on FNB Tuks stroll past FNB Wits 180

FNB UP-Tuks scored three tries to nil to record a 25-9 win (half-time 15-9) against FNB Wits in Round Five of the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International.

The gloomy weather that has held its grip on Pretoria over the last week made way for a pulsating match between the two teams at the Tuks Rugby Stadium.

FNB Wits brought their A game to Pretoria as they played at a frantic pace in the first half but FNB UP-Tuks proved to be a stronger defensive unit.

Flyhalves Tinus de Beer (FNB UP-Tuks) and Warren Gilbert (FNB Wits) exchanged penalties early on before FNB UP-Tuks wing Dewald Naude collected a grubber to score the opening try of the match.

Gilbert added a further two penalties before FNB UP-Tuks captain Chris Massyn crossed the line in the 31st minute. De Beer’s conversion gave the men from Pretoria a 15-9 lead at the break.

The second half proved to be a much slower affair as both team’s struggled to find their groove with promising passages of play ended by unforced errors.

Replacement utility back Franco van den Berg scored a late try to give the home team a comfortable 25-9 win.

FNB UP-Tuks will meet FNB CUT in Round Six next Monday at the Tuks Rugby Stadium. Kick-off is scheduled for 16:45 and the match will be televised.

FNB Player that Rocks: Andre Warner (FNB UP-Tuks)

FNB UP-Tuks: 25

Tries: Dewald Naude, Chris Massyn, Franco van den Berg
Cons: Tinus de Beer, Joshua Stander
Pens: Tinus de Beer (2)

FNB Wits: 9
Warren Gilbert (3)

FNB UP-Tuks:
15. Divan Rossouw, 14. Dewald Naude, 13. Toko Maebane, 12. Impi Visser, 11. Sibahle Maxwane, 10. Tinus de Beer, 9. Andre Warner, 8. Jsuan-Re Swanepoel, 7. Chris Massyn (c), 6. Eduan Lubbe, 5. Brian Leitch, 4. Aston Fortuin, 3. Neethling Fouche, 2. Jan-Henning Campher, 1. Andrew Beerwinkel.

Replacements: 16. Theuns Reynolds, 17. Jaco Holtzhausen, 18. Marius Verwey, 19. Denzel Hill, 20. Theo Maree, 21. Joshua Stander, 22. Manie Libbok, 23. Franco van den Berg.

FNB Wits: 15. Lux Ntsepe, 14.Kwanele Ngema 13. Joshua Jarvis, 12. Brandan Hewitt, 11. Wandisile Simelane, 10. Warren Gilbert (c), 9. Ruan Cloete, 8. Constant Beckerling, 7. Conor Brockschmidt, 6. Justin Brandon, 5. Graham Logan, 4. Rhyno Herbst, 3. Luvuyo Pupuma, 2. CJ Conradie, 1. CJ Greeff.

Replacements: 16. Michael Renwick, 17. Brandon Palmer, 18. Pascal Snyman, 19. Jethro De Lange, 20. Karl Erasmus, 21. Manuel Rass, 22. Gianni Lombard, 23. Ameer Williams

By Dan Lombard

Related Articles

Back to Top