2017 Varsity Cup, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday February 20th 2017
FNB UJ vs FNB Tuks at UJ stadium Johannesburg. Brian Leitch of Tuks in the lineout  during their varsity cup clash.

Photo by: SASPA

FNB UP-Tuks Young Guns amped for Wits challenge

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, Tuks Young Guns, Young Guns News No Comments on FNB UP-Tuks Young Guns amped for Wits challenge 68

FNB UP-Tuks Young Guns will be looking to extend their unbeaten record in this year’s FNB Young Guns competition as they host FNB Wits Young Guns in their return fixture at the Tuks Rugby Stadium on Monday, 27 February.

Head coach, Dewey Swartbooi, has made a number of changes to his match day squad ahead of their meeting with FNB Wits Young Guns.

Outside centre and vice captain Heino Bezuidenhout has been ruled out with an ankle injury while incumbent no.8, MJ Hayes, and loosehead prop, Gerhard Steenekamp, have been included in the starting line-up after missing out last week due to injury.

Changes on the bench include Ruan Nortje, Khwezi Mafu, Zandre Kruger and Moyo Ngonie.

“Injuries are never fun but there is very little we can do. A pleasing thing about injuries is that it gives the broader squad an opportunity to showcase their talent,” said Swartbooi.

FNB UP-Tuks Young Guns captain, Johan Grobbelaar, said that the team is looking forward to their return match against FNB Wits Young Guns but that they are cautious of the Johannesburg outfit.

“They will be eager to turn things around against us. We did not have a great hit out against UJ so they would have identified our weaknesses. We put in a lot of hard graft this week to fix our mistakes and we are ready for whatever they throw at us,” said Grobbelaar.

FNB UP-Tuks Young Guns face FNB Wits Young Guns at the Tuks Rugby Stadium on Monday, 27 February. Kick-off is scheduled for 14:15.

FNB UP-Tuks Young Guns: 15. Earll Douwrie, 14. Ciaran Dayaram, 13. Wian van Niekerk, 12. Boeta Hamman, 11. Litha Nkula, 10. Theo Boshoff, 9. Embrose Papier, 8. MJ Hayes, 7. Jaco Bezuidenhout, 6. Evan Booysen, 5. Adriaan Burger, 4. Erik Groenwalt, 3. O’Neil Thiart, 2. Johan Grobbelaar (c), 1. Gerhard Steenekamp.

Replacements: 16. Werner Fourie, 17. Luke Fortuin, 18. Ruan Nortje, 19. Khwezi Mafu, 20. Joshua Allderman, 21. Zandre Kruger, 22. Irvin Ali, 23. Moyo Ngonie.

By Dan Lombard

Related Articles

Back to Top