2016 FNB Varsity Shield Rugby

FNB TUT earns first win of the season in thrilling final match, 45-40

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International, Fort Hare, TUT No Comments on FNB TUT earns first win of the season in thrilling final match, 45-40 269

FNB UFH and FNB TUT took the field at the FNB Stadium on Monday, knowing that the losing side wood receive the wooden spoon in the FNB Varsity Shield, presented by Steinhoff International.

It was no surprise when the two sides took each other by the scruff of the necks and gave it their all to achieve the single most important aim of the season – to beat their opponent into last log position.

Both teams tried every tactic in the rugby manual, running the ball at every opportunity, attacking like their lives actually depended on it.

At the final whistle, it was FNB TUT Vikings who scored that one more try, giving the Pretoria Boys a narrow win of 45-40, after leading 29-24 at halftime. FNB TUT scored six tries to the five of FNB UFH.

A titanic, exciting clash of forces, indeed, with the scoreboard lead changing nine times during this epic battle.



Tries:  Ian Truter (2), Calvyn Maduna, Tshepo Nyathi, Claud Johannes.

Cons: Shaun Jaards (5)


Tries:  Lukho Jongizulu, Sibongile Novuka, Sibusiso Sityebi, Luyolo Batshise, Athipila Mlotywa.

Cons: Elandre Sias (5)

15 Mfundo Gumede, 14 Chestwin Gaffey 13 Ian Truter, 12 Dumsani Mthethwa, 11 Tshepo Nyathi, 10 Shaun Jaards, 9 Kurt Mackay, 8 Claude Johannes, 7 George Letshuma, 6 Calvin Maduna, 5 William Thompson, 4 Cory van Rooyen, 3 Armand Marshall, 2 Christo Lategan, 1 Stanley Modjadji

16 Schalk van Niekerk, 17 JJ Nelson, 18 Francois de Villiers, 19 DK Mukendi, 20 Lisa Banzi, 21 Frankie Abrahams, 22 Litha Vumisa, 23 Kevin Nkateko


15 Novuka Sibongile, 14 Akhona Matutu, 13 Lukho Jongizulu, 12 Athipila Mlotywa, 11 Asiphe Fihla, 10 Siviwe Bisset, 9 Qhama Masiza, 8 Malusi Vula, 7 Sibusiso Sityebi, 6 Zanoxolo Qwele, 5 Philisani Ncoko, 4 Athenkosi Makeleni, 3 Bulelani Mdodana, 2 Mzingabantu Vitsha, 1 Lwando Mabenge

16 Lulamile Kama, 17 Olwethu Mputla, 18 Hendri Storm, 19 Siphosethu Tsotsa, 20 Elandre Sias, 21 Siphosethu Tsotsa, 22 Luyolo Batshise, 23 Asiphe Fanele


By Carel Korff

Related Articles

Back to Top