2017 Varsity Shield, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday 27th February 2017
FNB RHODES vs FNB UFH at Rhodes Great Field, Grahamstown, Eastern Cape.

Athenkosi Makeleni of FNB UFH
Photo by: Stephen Penney/SASPA

FNB UFH not celebrating just yet  

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International, Fort Hare No Comments on FNB UFH not celebrating just yet   67

Only one match remains for the men from Alice, and while a win or loss won’t change much for them, as they have booked their home semi-final spot, they will strive to maintain momentum.

After what seemed like a rather one-sided affair, when FNB UFH beat FNB TUT, their semi-final spot was assured and the team enjoyed the milestone of reaching a Varsity Shield semi-final.

“When we spoke of semi-finals when the games started, it all seemed like a shot in the dark, but it is a reality now, and on that note, we refuse to take on any additional pressure,” said captain Zanoxolo Qwele. “We know what is needed of us, we know what we can do, and no game is less important than the other.”

The men from Alice will travel to the Western Cape and face FNB CPUT in their last group stage match, before they begin their final preparations for their semi-final match.

“We have worked hard for it, we have made our mistakes and we have learnt from our mistakes, and that is how teams are built. We are happy about the semi-final spot, but it’s early days for us to celebrate. We have a lot of work to do before we are out of the woods,” said coach Carlos Katywa.

FNB UFH will face FNB CPUT in Cape Town as they field an unchanged side. The same one that won against FNB TUT.

FNB UFH starting XV: 1. Sivuyile Mdishwa, 2. Mkhonto Caku-caku, 3. Bulelani Mdodana, 4. Athenkosi Makeleni, 5. Philisani Ncoko 6. Zanoxolo Qwele, 7. Thulani Njenje, 8. Sibusiso Sityebi, 9. Qhama  Masiza, 10.Jeandre Christian, 11.Sibongile Novuka, 12. Somila Jho, 13. Luyolo Batshise, 14 Zayne Farmers, 15.Wilfred Bowers

Replacements: 16. Litha Magocoba, 17. Lixhanti Tame, 18. Siphosethu Tsotsa, 19. Leon Ndlovu, 20. Lindokuhle Kenene, 21. Xolela Daniels, 22. Siphuxolo Zaula, 23. Asiphe Fanele

By Kgoboko Kgoboko

Related Articles

Back to Top