2016 FNB Varsity Shied Rugby

FNB UKZN demolish FNB UFH 97-0 at the Rand Stadium

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, Fort Hare, UKZN No Comments on FNB UKZN demolish FNB UFH 97-0 at the Rand Stadium 371

FNB UKZN went back to the top of the Varsity Shield log with an emphatic 97–0 thumping of an FNB UFH side that never turned up on the day at Rand Stadium this Monday afternoon.

It was FNB UKZN from start to finish, playing the most enterprising game and executing on their game plans, where FNB UFH failed to accomplish much.

Two quick tries from outside centre Grant Rattray put FNB UKZN 13–0 up 10 minutes into the match. Another five-pointer, this time from left-winger Thobekani Buthelezi, had FNB UKZN at 23–0 by the first strategy break.

At the stroke of half time FNB UKZN were comfortably in the lead 36-0.

In the second half it was clear that at this rate, the floodgates would soon open, and they did. FNB UKZN scored a further eight unanswered tries as they took their score to a massive total of 97 with no reply from FNB UFH.

FNB UKZN went into the match knowing that they needed to beat FNB UFH by a large score to ensure that they would close the points difference FNB Wits had on them. They did more than that, not only did they return to first position on the log, but they now have a 177-point positive points difference, whereas FNB Wits has 148, leaving them in second place.

The final score at Rand Stadium, FNB UKZN 97-0 FNB UFH.

Player That Rocks: Michael Meyer (FNB UKZN)


Tries: Grant Rattray (2), James Blewett (3), Thobekani Buthelezi, Kerron van Vurren, Shayne Makhombe (3), Marius Louw, Blake Mingay, Pierre van der Walt, Addam Wessels
Cons: Tristan Tedder (9)


FNB UKZN: 15 James Tristan Blewett, 14 Shayne Makhombe, 13 Grant Neil During Rattray, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Jefro Thobekani W. Buthelezi, 10 Tristan James Tedder, 9 Willen Jacobus Bardenhosrt, 8 Adam Wessels, 7 Njabulo Zwela Zondi, 6 Michael Arnoldus Meyer, 5 Jean Droste, 4 Rikus Zwart, 3 Pierre van der Walt, 2 Kerron Thomas van Vurren, 1 Ntandoyenkosi Mpofana.

16 Mikyle Henry Webster, 17 Lindokuhle Radebe, 18 Jordan Martin, 19 Sanele Malwane, 20 Blake Sudbury Mingay, 21 S’busiso Romeo             Nkosi, 22 Siphathisene A. Bongumusa Dube, 23 Clive Musasiwa


FNB UFH: 15 Akhona Matutu, 14 Aziyena Mandaba, 13 Luyolo Batshise, Athiphila Mamkeli Mlotywa, 11 Asiphe Fihla, 10 Siviwe Bisset, 9 Qhama Masiza, 8 Philisani K Ncoko, 7 Zanoxolo Qwele 6 Siphesihle Qhamani Punguzwa, 5 Lwando Ntetha, 4 Sibusiso Sityebi, 3 Olwethu Phomotso Mputla, 2 Justin Antonie, 1 Bulelani Mdodana.

16, Mzingabantu Vitsha, 17 Lusindiso Masidumise Aviwe Nkomo, 18 Athenkosi Makeleni, 19 Malusi Vula, 20 Elandre Brandon Sias, 21 Siphosethu Tom, 22 Sibongile Vukile Novuka, 23 Lulamile Kama

By Ike Bam

Related Articles

Back to Top