2016 FNB Varsity YOUNG GUNS FINAL,Jan-Henning Campher and Johannes Holthuisen of Tuks  are celebrating a try during their clash on Tuesday 12 April 2016, UJ Stadium, Johannesburg Gauteng.
FNB UJ vs FNB UP-Tuks 

Photo by: SASPA

FNB UP Tuks Young Guns grind out hard-earned victory against FNB UJ Young Guns

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, Tuks Young Guns, UJ Young Guns, Young Guns News No Comments on FNB UP Tuks Young Guns grind out hard-earned victory against FNB UJ Young Guns 99

FNB UP Tuks Young Guns got their season up and running when they managed to beat local rivals FNB UJ Young Guns at the Johannesburg Stadium in the 2017 FNB Varsity Young Guns presented by Steinhoff International.

The match started at a pedestrian pace as both sides were still flexing their muscles but were evenly matched in both attack and defence. FNB UJ Young Guns then started to grow in confidence and had the majority of the possession heading in to the first strategic break, 0-0 after 20 minutes.

The game then slowly grew into life as both teams threatened to score but were just lacking that finishing touch as both team went into halftime deadlocked at 0-0, with the rain starting to pour down.

The second half was off to a frantic pace as FNB UP Tuks were able to get the first points of the game as flyhalf Theo Bishoff scored a penalty to put the away side into a 0-2 lead. The visitors further extended the lead when flyhalf Theo Bishoff scored their second penalty of the game to make it 0-4.

FNB UJ Young Guns were still in the clash and looked to gain points on the scoreboard but to no avail and were felling the pressure with only 20 minutes left to play. However it was the visitors who added more points to the tally when flyhalf Theo Bishoff scored a drop goal to seemingly put the game to bed, and FNB UP Tuks were running away with it at 0-6.
FNB UJ Young Guns: 0

FNB UP-TUKS Young Guns: 6
Pens: Theo Bishoff (2)
Drop goals: Theo Bishoff

FNB UJ Young Guns Starting XV: 15 P.W Steenkamp, 14 Vuyo Shongwe, 13 Cyprian Nkomo, 12 Andrew Page, 11 Runan Venter, 10 Ethan Anderson, 9 Divan Henning, 8 Edwin Jansen, 7 Jabulani Mtshatsheni, 6 Mpumelelo Mathias, 5 Tiaan Venter, 4 Thokozani Skosana, 3 Neill Bezuidenhout, 2 H.P © Van Schoor, 1 Pierre Rabie

Replacements: 16 MC De Jongh, 17 Khanya   Gela, 18 Lehlohonolo  Mphuthi, 19 Gideon Botha, 20, Thato Mathunyane, 21 Migael Du Plessis, 22 Martin Louw, 23 Kyle Leus

FNB UP-Tuks Young Guns starting XV: 15. Earll Douwrie, 14. Ciaran Dayaram, 13. Heino Bezuidenhout, 12. Boeta Hamman, 11. Litha Nkula, 10. Theo Boshoff, 9. Embrose Papier, 8. Khwezi Mafu, 7. Jaco Bezuidenhout, 6. Vic Meyer, 5. Erik Groenwalt, 4. Adriaan Burger, 3. Ngonie Moyo, 2. Johan Grobbelaar (c), 1. O’Neil Thiart.

Replacements: 16. Werner Fourie, 17. Etienne Janeke, 18. Evan Booysen, 19. Hanru Sirgel, 20. Joshua Allderman, 21. Wian van Niekerk, 22. Irvin Ali, 23. Luke Fortuin.

By Nkosinathi Shazi

Related Articles

Back to Top