2017 Varsity Shield, Kurt Lee Arendse of UWC during the match between UWC and CPUT, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Wednesday 09 February 2017.
FNB UWC vs FNB CPUT, at UWC Sports Ground, Cape Town, Western Cape

Photo by: Luigi Bennett/SASPA

FNB UWC edge out a resilient FNB CPUT side in an entertaining derby match

CPUT, FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International, UWC No Comments on FNB UWC edge out a resilient FNB CPUT side in an entertaining derby match 406

In what was a welcoming match for FNB CPUT into the FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International, at the UWC Stadium on Thursday evening, it had the feeling of old foes locking horns with neither willing to budge.

The home side FNB UWC applied the early pressure in the game and earned themselves a penalty in the fifth minute of the match. Unfortunately the man on kicking duty, Aidynn Cupido missed the penalty. Two minutes later, his counterpart from FNB CPUT was on the march and converted his team’s penalty to earn the visitors their first ever Varsity Shield points.

FNB UWC responded immediately with a try from right-winger Kurt-Lee Arendse in the far right corner, with the subsequent conversion going slightly on the outside of the left post. The away team suffered a blow when captain Camagu Dlisani received a yellow card which saw him in the sin bin for the next 10 minutes. The home team used their numerical adavantage and in the 25th minute FNB UWC were awarded a penalty try to extend their lead to 12 – 3.

It didn’t stop there as FNB UWC continued their first half pressure and were duly rewarded as Shaine Orderson crossed over the line to extend the lead to 18 – 2 after the missed conversion from Keagan Fortuin this time around. On the stroke of half-time, FNB UWC hooker Ismaeel Shroeder scored another try for the hosts which was converted by Aidynn Cupido who seemed to have found his kicking touch.

It proved to be a game of two halves as FNB CPUT came out guns blazing in the second half and were rewarded with a try of their own. The visitors’ flanker Butsha Mputa scored a try and Randy Brinkhuis made no mistake with the conversion to cut the lead to 26 – 10 after 45 minutes. With the FNB CPUT fans being the more vocal, the boys seemed to be feeding off all the cheers on the stands and kept piling the pressure which led to FNB UWC seeing their second player (Nathan Cloete) being yellow carded after Brandon Valentyn who had received his yellow earlier in the second half.

The upward spiral did not stop there for FNB CPUT as they scored another try through Clarence Van Wyk which sent the visiting crowd into a frenzy. Brinkhuis again made no mistake as he converted to narrow the lead to just eight points. The visitors were not done yet as they saw Malan Roode cross over the line in the 71st minute for FNB CPUT but would have disappointed to see the conversion missed by a seemingly accurate Randy Brinkhuis.

The match had all the makings of a derby and with a total of six yellow cards and just three points separating the two teams, the fans were served a treat by both teams.

FNB Player that Rocks: Christiaan Smit (FNB CPUT)

Kurt-Lee Arendse, Shaine Orderson, Ismaeel Shroeder, Penalty Try
Aidynn Cupido, Penalty Try

Butsha Mputa, Malan Roode, Clarence Van Wyk
Randy Brinkhuis (2)
Randy Brinkhuis

UWC starting XV: 15 Daniel Bock, 14 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 13 Michaine Fick, 12 Aidynn Cupido, 11 Andre Manuel, 10 Keagan Fortuin, 9 Clayton Daniels, 8 Adrian Paarwater, 7 Alwyn Carstens, 6 Shaine Orderson, 5 Anrich Mostert, 4 Brandon Valentyn, 3 Justin Theys, 2 Ismaeel Schroeder, 1 Mzo Buthelezi
Replacements: 16 Ralph Jansen, 17 Bradley Jumaats, 18 Curtley Thomas, 19 Matthew Le Roux, 20 Herchelle Jantjies, 21 Hendrik Carstens, 22 Rodrick Moses, 23 Nathan Cloete

FNB CPUT Starting XV: 15 Chad Kleinsmidt, 14 Mario Wilson, 13 Lunathi Nxele, 12 Malan Roode, 11 Lucan Kirchner, 10 Randy Brinkhuis, 9 Christiaan Smit, 8 Glendon du Plessis, 7 Johan Serdyn, 6 Butsha Mputa, 5 Elcado Baadjies, 4 Camagu Dlisani, 3 Zack van Niekerk, 2 Bekithemba Gqibithole, 1 Clarence van Wyk
16 Sven Brundyn, 17 Malathisi Magongoma, 18 Colin April, 19 Shaurick Blom, 20 Akhona Sihunu, 21 Lutando Dawedi, 22 Fernholdt Buis, 23 Sihle Tshaka

By Thulani Mkosi

Related Articles

Back to Top