2017 Varsity Cup, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday February 13th 2017
FNB WITS vs FNB CUT at WITS stadium Johannesburg.Wandisile Simelane of Wits is tackled by Ruan Wasserman of CUT during their varsity cup clash.

Photo by: SASPA

FNB Wits look to keep momentum going

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, Wits No Comments on FNB Wits look to keep momentum going 12

FNB Wits will be raring to get going after picking up their first victory of the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International last time out. The past week, however, saw the FNB Witsies take a well-deserved break, after not being in action due to their bye.

FNB Wits now set their sights on FNB UP-Tuks, who they will face in the Juskei derby in Pretoria on Monday evening. The hosts on the day will be looking to bounce back after suffering a last minute defeat at the hands of another Gauteng rival, FNB UJ.

FNB Wits would have been taking notes on how to beat the mighty FNB UP-Tuks. This week, however, sees the FNB Witsies keep the same starting team as in the their win again FNB CUT. The only change in the FNB Wits squad, sees young star fullback Gianni Lombard join the bench in place of Jarred Branco.

The former SA Schools and current Lions youngster, Lombard, will give FNB Wits something extra coming off the bench in defence and attack. He will indeed be a great addition, as FNB Wits have needed someone who can help them finish games off in the second half.

The game between FNB UP-Tuks and FNB Wits will take place at the Tuks Rugby Stadium with kickoff due at 18.30pm. Come down in your numbers and Back your Boytjies.

FNB Wits starting XV: 15. Lux Ntsepe, 14.Kwanele Ngema 13. Joshua Jarvis, 12. Brandan Hewitt, 11. Wandisile Simelane, 10. Warren Gilbert(capt), 9. Ruan Cloete, 8. Constant Beckerling, 7. Conor Brockschmidt, 6. Ruan Macdonald, 5. Graham Logan, 4. Rhyno Herbst, 3. Luvuyo Pupuma, 2. CJ Conradie, 1. CJ Greeff.

Subs: 16. Justin Brandon, 17. Brandon Palmer, 18. Pascal Snyman, 19. Jethro De Lange, 20. Karl Erasmus, 21. Manuel Rass, 22. Gianni Lombard, 23. Ameer Williams

By Sifiso Nyawo 

Related Articles

Back to Top