2017 Varsity Shield, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday 20 February 2017.
FNB TUT vs FNB WSU, at TUT stadium, Pretoria, Gauteng.

Team WSU celebrate the Win

Photo by: Catherine Kotze/SASPA

FNB WSU snatch victory at the death

CPUT, FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International, WSU No Comments on FNB WSU snatch victory at the death 211

Walter Sisulu University managed to defeat FNB CPUT in the dying minutes, winning 20-15 on Monday evening at Buffalo City Stadium.

The home team did not start on a good note as Zizipho Kayi (fullback) missed a penalty and opportunity to take the lead. In the 11th minute FNB CPUT counter-attacked and were awarded a penalty which was successfully scored by Chad Kleinsmidt (fullback). The visitors took a 2-0 lead. Another penalty was awarded to FNB WSU and this time around they made sure it counted, converting the penalty levelled matters. FNB WSU continued probing until they were awarded a penalty, which Zizipho Kayi converted with ease to make the score 4-2. Before the strategy break FNB WSU’s Sinegugu Letuka received a yellow card for repeated infringements.

The All Blacks continued to search for points as Ntando Mfengu (left wing) broke through the FNB CPUT defence and ran 45 metres to score a brilliant individual try. The conversion was successful by Zizipho Kayi, taking the score to 12-2 to conclude the first half.

The second half began with great intensity as both teams looked to dominate the second half early on. FNB CPUT right wing Lunathi Nxele was yellow-carded for hands in the ruck and had to spend 10 minutes in the bin. FNB CPUT applied pressure and forced an error which resulted in a try under the posts by Lucas Kirchner (scrumhalf) and Chad Kleinsmidt slotted the conversion. This gave the visitors hope of clinching the well-contested match, taking the score to 12-10 with the home team still in the lead.

The game became tighter and a number of injuries were sustained, as two players were sent off due to concussions. The home side dominated possession in the final quarter, but unfortunately for them they could not get points on the board due to a number of handling errors and great breakdown work by FNB CPUT. The hosts were denied what looked like an obvious try.

In the 78th minute, Shaurick Blom stunned the 3 500 loud, cheering supporters at the Buffalo City Stadium with a well-worked breakaway try, that started from their own 22-metre line, to silence the home crowd. The All Blacks were not about to be out shown up in front of their biggest home crowd yet. With two minutes to spare on the clock, FNB WSU contested their kickoff to win back possession. They continued to probe and they were awarded a penalty which they quickly tapped and Lubabalo Lento (flanker) crossed the tryline after the final hooter. Zizipho Kayi converted, taking the final score to 20-15 in favor of FNB WSU.

FNB Player that rocks: Ntando Mfengu (FNB WSU)


Tries: Ntando Mfengu, Lubabalo Lento
Cons: Zizipho Kayi (2)
Pens: Zizipho Kayi (2)

: Lucas Kirchner, Shaurick Blom
Cons: Chad Kleinsmidt (1)
Pens: Kleinsmidt (1)


FNB WSU Starting XV: 15. Zizipho Kayi, 14. Khanyiso Roloma, 13. Ludwe Jack, 12. Luzuko Mafu, 11. Ntando Mfengu, 10. Sinegugu Lituka, 9. Minenhle Ngidi, 8. Xolani Mbombo, 7. Lubabalo Lento, 6. Mihlali Qoma(c), 5. Mihlali Mosi, 4. Athenkosi Khethani, 3. Sinesipho Puzi, 2. Siyamthanda Sineko, 1. Sandile Buthelezi

Replacements: 16. Masixole Gubeni, 17. Nkosinathi Hulani, 18. Luyolo Fata, 19. Siphosihle Magawu, 20. Mihllali Nchukana, 21. Lusanda Xakwana, 22. Khwezi Zinto, 23. Luvo Matiwane

FNB CPUT Starting XV: 15. Chad Kleinsmidt, 14. Lunathi Nxele, 13. Mario Wilson, 12. Malan Roode, 11. Fernholdt Buis, 10. Dylan Beukes, 9. Christiaan Smit, 8. Colin April, 7. Glendon Du Plessis, 6. Johan Serdyn ,5. Fernell Pretorious, 4. Elcado Baadjies, 3. Malathisi Magongoma, 2. Sven Brundyn, 1. Clarence Van Wyk

Replacements:16. Keadon Consul, 17. Sihle Tshaka, 18. Shaurick Blom, 19. Butsha Mputa, 20. Lucan Kirchner, 21. Sisonke Ntsabo, 22. Randy Brinkhuis, 23. Henrico Jacobs

By Mokete Radebe

Related Articles

Back to Top