Wilfred Bowers of UHF during the 2017 Varsity Shield, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Wednesday 09 February 2017.
FNB UFH vs FNB WSU at Davidson Stadium , Alice, Eastern Cape.

Photo by: Michael Sheehan/SASPA

Hard yards to be made by FNB UFH ahead of FNB UWC clash

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International, Fort Hare No Comments on Hard yards to be made by FNB UFH ahead of FNB UWC clash 91

The first FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International Eastern Cape derby truly lived up to the hype, with the men from Alice suffering their first loss to FNB WSU. FNB UFH are yet to find their feet this season. The men from Alice looked a bit shaky on their encounter with FNB WSU and will hope to bounce back against Cape debutants FNB CPUT.

“It’s still early days for people to write us off,” said a confident head coach Carlos Katyiwa. “Walter Sisulu played a solid game, and hats off to them. We will bounce back from the loss. We have moved on as a team and looking forward to our fixture with UWC.”

FNB UFH owe their home fans a big win, and what better way to deliver than against their Western Cape rivals FNB UWC?

“We as players need to step up to the platform and perform – a performance of our lifetimes if I may add,” said captain Zanoxolo Qwele. “We took our last game too lightly, but that’s in the past. Happy days for the community of Alice are close by, and we promise a world class performance come Monday, seriously hard yards will have to be put in if we want to get back to winning ways.”

FNB UFH have announced an unchanged side for their encounter with FNB UWC, who will come into the game with a confidence-boosting win over FNB CPUT, and FNB UFH will be looking to claim maximum points after their below-par perforce.

Catch the game at 18:30 at Davidson Stadium in Alice.

FNB UFH starting XV: 15 Wilfred Bowers, 14 Zayne Farmers, 13 Somila Jho, 12 Xolela Daniels, 11Sibongile Novuka, 10 Jeandre Christian, 9 Lindokuhle Kenene, 8 Thulani Njenje, 7 Leon Ndlovu, 6 Zanoxolo Qwele, 5 Philisani Ncoko, 4 Sibusiso Sityebi, 3 Bulelani Mdodana, 2 Mkhonto Caku-caku,1 Asiphe Fanele.

Replacements: 16 Lulamile Kama, 17 Lixhanti Tame,18 Chuma  Biyana,19 Sokhana` Mpemba, 20 Qhama  Masiza, 21 siphoxolo Zaula, 22 Luyolo Batshise, 23 Sivuyile  Mdishwa

By Kgoboko Kgoboko

Related Articles

Back to Top