John Dobson picks his Varsity Cup Dream Team

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, Ikeys No Comments on John Dobson picks his Varsity Cup Dream Team 630

On 25 April 2017, the Varsity Cup Dream Team, consisting of the best 23 players in the competition, will face the Junior Springboks in Stellenbosch in what should be a thrilling exhibition match.

FNB UCT coach from 2008-2010, John Dobson is somewhat of a legend for the Ikeys. He won the cup with FNB UCT in 2011 as a technical advisor. Dobson has weighed in on the Dream Team selection by selecting a team of his own.

Nobody can accuse Dobson of showing partiality, as interestingly he has selected none of FNB UCT’s players in his starting XV.

There is a strong flavour of FNB Maties and FNB Tuks to his team, unsurprisingly, as they are the 2017 finalists.

Here is his starting XV:

15 Craig Barry – FNB Maties
14 Sibahle Maxwane – FNB Tuks
13 Aphiwe Dyantyi (C) – FNB UJ
12. Michal Hazner –FNB Maties
11. Edwill van der Merwe – FNB Maties
10. Tinus De Beer – FNB Tuks
9. Andre Warner – FNB Tuks

8. Kevin Kaba – FNB Madibaz
7. Kobus van Dyk – FNB Maties
6. Ruan Macdonald – FNB Wits
5. Walt Steenkamp – FNB Pukke
4. Johan Momsen – FNB Maties
3. Luvuyo Pupuma – FNB Wits
2. Corniel Els – FNB Tuks
1. Dillon bakos – FNB UJ

Related Articles

Back to Top