20170206 Varsity Rugby in Potchefstroom on the Fanie du Toit. The Madibaz from PE plays Pukke.Walt Steenkamp's try is awarded and his teamm mates congratulate him.photo Mario van de Wall/SASPA

FNB Madibaz coach seeks greater control against FNB Tuks

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, NMMU No Comments on FNB Madibaz coach seeks greater control against FNB Tuks 25

FNB NMMU-Madibaz coach David Maidza wants his team to implement their strategy more effectively when they face FNB Tuks in the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International in Pretoria on Monday.

After winning their first match against FNB UCT, the FNB Madibaz faltered against champions FNB NWU-Pukke in Potchefstroom this week, losing 37-7. Maidza said they were disappointed with the outcome, but not disillusioned and were determined to improve against FNB Tuks.

“Having analysed the game, the team know that they could have executed our gameplan better,” he said. “I felt at times we did not handle the pressure well but we know where we went wrong and aim to fix that for the next game.”

The Madibaz coach praised the team for showing character against FNB Pukke, never throwing in the towel despite the scoreline.

“We were disappointed in that we did not control the possession we had and, of course, Pukke took full advantage of these errors.”

He said he was confident the players would continue to work for each other because the spirit in the team remained strong.

“I can easily say that this is a group who want to achieve their best this year on the rugby field,” said Maidza.

He knows that FNB Tuks will be another big challenge on Monday and said the team would be focused on a more accurate gameplan.

“We agreed that we did not carry out the strategy well. That started with our set-pieces which led to us not having a good launching pad. We need to have better focus at crucial times, especially when we have ball in hand, so that we can ask more defensive questions of the opposition.”

FNB NMMU-Madibaz starting XV: 15 Lindelwu Zungu, 14 Jixie Molapo, 13 Siphumelele Msutwana, 12 Andile Jho (vice-capt), 11 Athi Mayinje, 10 Simon Bolze, 9 Luvo Claassen, 8 Kevin Kaba (capt), 7 Henry Brown, 6 SF Nieuwoudt, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Janse Roux, 3 James Beyl, 2 JP Jamieson, 1 Nicolaas Oosthuizen.

Replacements: Jedwyn Harty, Xandre Vos, Nicolas Roebeck, Jayson Reinecke, Rouche Nel, Jordan Koekemoer, Ivan-John du Preez, Robert Izaks.

By Coetzee Gouws

Related Articles

Back to Top