Thulani Njenje of UHF and Tame Lixhanti of UFH celebrate after UFH score a try during the 2017 Varsity Shield, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday, 13 February 2017.
FNB UFH vs FNB UWC at Davidson Stadium , Fort Beaufort, Eastern Cape.

Photo by:Deryck Voster/SASPA

The rain of tries came down hard in Alice as FNB UFH reach final

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International, Fort Hare, UKZN No Comments on The rain of tries came down hard in Alice as FNB UFH reach final 442

After what was set to be a cracker filled with revenge and settling of old scores, FNB UFH and the FNB UKZN had to leave it all on the field as the stakes were higher than ever before.

The men from Alice showed dominance as they put in six tries, by Thulani Njenje, Athenkosi Makeleni, Qhama Masiza, Xolela Daniels and Somila Jho, with five out of six converted by Jandre Christian, as they earned a healthy lead going into the half time leading 37-0.

The second half was less settled as the home team played tactical game, as they had achieved the core business of the day. But just as we thought as FNB UFH could not dominate anymore Thulane Njenje went over the tryline for his brace, first one of the season. FNB UKZN had one last trick up their sleeves, as they pulled one back through Mosiesa Paki in the last minutes to console their journey as it comes to a halting stop.

For the home team the biggest battle still remains as they will face FNB UWC in their first-ever final. Final score FNB UFH 45-8 FNB UKZN.

FNB Player That Rocks: Luxhanti Tame (FNB UFH)


Tries: Thulani Njenje, Athenkosi Makeleni, Qhama Masiza, Somila Jho, Xolela Daniels
: Jandre Christian (5)

Tries: Mosiesa Paki (1)
Cons: Kotze Ruan (1)

1. Luxhanti Tame 2. Mkhonto Caku-caku, 3. Bulelani Mdodana, 4. Athenkosi Makeleni, 5. Philisani Ncoko 6. Zanoxolo Qwele, 7. Thulani Njenje, 8. Sibusiso Sityebi, 9. Qhama  Masiza, 10.Jeandre Christian, 11.Wilfred Bowers 12. Somila Jho, 13. Xolela Daniels , 14 Zayne Farmers 15. Siphoxolo Zaula
Replacements: 16. Litha Magocoba, 17. Sivuyile Mdishwa , 18. Siphosethu Tsotsa, 19. Leon Ndlovu, 20. Lindokuhle Kenene, 21. Luyolo Batshise 22. Sibongile Novuka, 23. Asiphe Fanele

FNB UKZN: 1. Mpofana Ntandoyenkosi 2. Mandioma Simba 3. Radebe Lindokuhle 4. Visagie Lourens 5. Monareng Mpumalanga 6. Puza Sizwe 7. Mabuza Senzo 8. Stopforth Jean-Pierre 9.Dubazane Sibonakaliso 10.Kotze Ruan 11. Buthelezi Jefro 12. Schoor Taigh 13. Moseisa Paki 14. Julius Brawin 15. Sibiya Fana

Replacements: 16. Daniels Rameon 17. Mthebela Melusi 18. Musasiwa Clive 19. Sokhela Sikhulile 20. Sithole Nduduza 21. Shange Mnqobi 22. Dlamini Lungelo 23. Masoek Solomon

By Kgoboko Kgoboko

Related Articles

Back to Top