Steinhoff Cobras stand strong against Steinhoff Chiropractors

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, Ikeys Koshuis Rugby, Steinhoff KoshuisRugby, UJ Koshuis Rugby No Comments on Steinhoff Cobras stand strong against Steinhoff Chiropractors 112

The Steinhoff Cobras pulled off an impressive 28-10 win at a windy Green Mile on Monday night after Steinhoff Chiropractors threatened to make a comeback after tying the game up at 10-10 during the second half.

Steinhoff Cobras started the game off on the front foot, and spent a long period of time camped inside of the Steinhoff Chiropractors’ half. Their pressure paid off when Chris Heunis broke the deadlock, but the resulting conversion was unsuccessful.

The home team then went a man down as Struan Murray received a yellow. However, during this period of time, Jesse Wilensky scored a brilliant try to double the Steinhoff Cobras’ lead. Trying to play out from against their own try line, the ball was spread wide to Wilensky, who made quick work of the oncoming opposition before running the length of the field to score.

Gabriel Luyt scored a penalty for the Steinhoff Chiropractors as they went into the halftime break trailing 10-2. It was during the second half that the visitors tried to complete a comeback, as substitute Ryan Johst scored and Luyt converted a try. The game was tied up at 10-10, and for a moment it seemed as if Steinhoff Chiropractors could end the night with all the points in the bag. But that was before Steinhoff Cobras’ Ty Wills converted Heunis’ second try of the game. The Steinhoff Cobras didn’t stop there either, extending their lead once again with the final play of the game as they scored a penalty try.

Incredible Man of the Match: Oliver Neill (Steinhoff Cobras)

Steinhoff Cobras: 28
Chris Heunis (2), Joshua Attenborough, Penalty Try
Cons: Ty Wills (2)
Pens: Ty Willis
Yellow Cards: Niven Poleman

Steinhoff Chiropractors: 10
:Ryan Johst
Cons: Gabriel Luyt
Pens: Gabriel Luyt


Steinhoff Cobras starting XV: 15 Jesse Wilensky, 14 Christopher Heunis, 13 Byrone Kennedy, 12 Nicholas Zille, 11 Joshua Attenborough, 10 Luke Leach, 9 Ross Church, 8 Zukile Ncube, 7 Justin Morkel, 6 Jordan Artus, 5 Devon Stone, 4 Oliver Neill, 3 Jayson Landman, 2 Niven Poleman, 1 Wahl Enslin.

Replacements: 16 Daniel Russell, 17 Thomas Van As, 18 Lihle Kula, 19 Alessio De Gouveia, 20 Justin Rowe-Roberts, 21 Patrick Chuter, 22 Ty Wills, 23 Brandon Tattam.

Steinhoff Chiros starting XV: 15 Rynhardt Van Lelyveld, 14 Ricardo Jonker, 13 Armand Kriel, 12 Tiaan Grimbreek, 11 Sabelo Mahlangu, 10 Christiaan Jooste, 9 Gabriel Luyt, 8 Marnu Boshoff, 7 Sibusiso Lali, 6 Steven Olivier, 5 Jordan Hutchinson, 4 Ryan Johst, 3 Willem Steyn, 2 Gerrit Rautenbach, 1 Hudson Mbatha

Replacements: 16 Robin Dent, 17 Jacobs Van Zyl, 18 Mangoba Mhlangu, 19 Oratile Mabusela, 20 Yves Kokela, 21 Dylan Batty, 22 Ryan Johst, 23 Arno Van der Westhuizen.

By Wessley Thring

Related Articles

Back to Top