Steinhoff Patria crowned NWU Koshuis Rugby League champions

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, NWU Pukke Koshuis Rugby, Steinhoff KoshuisRugby No Comments on Steinhoff Patria crowned NWU Koshuis Rugby League champions 1

The men from Steinhoff Patria were crowned the champions of the NWU Steinhoff Koshuis Rugby League for the fifth consecutive year as they claimed a victory of 32-24 over Steinhoff Caput at the Fanie du Toit Sports Ground on Wednesday evening.

Steinhoff Caput owned the first half of the match after Steinhoff Patria opened the scoreboard. Patria were rewarded with a penalty kick in the opening minutes of the game and with his kicking boot Jaswyn Damon managed to put his team 3-0 up on the board.

Awie Engelbrecht from the Blues extended the lead to 8-0 as he showed a remarkable drive to put the ball down behind the try line. But a beautiful intercept by Steinhoff Caput’s Jan Labuschagne put them back in the game as he narrowed the gap to 8-5.

Visser van der Bank and Ruvo du Preez from Steinhoff Caput managed to score two tries to put them 8-17 ahead before they headed into half time.

After the break Steinhoff Patria’s Louis Winter, Maghiel Le Roux and Christo Badenhorst secured three quick tries for the defending champions to put the bad performance they displayed in the first half behind their backs. They took the lead 29-17 after half time. Carl Foord found a gap for Steinhoff Caput to narrow the lead to 29-24.

In the final minutes of the match Damon closed out the game 32-24 with a successful penalty kick to put an end to Steinhoff Caput’s dreams.  

WhatsApp Image 2017-09-06 at 10.47.43 PM

Steinhoff Caput:
Tries: Jan Labuschagne, Visser van der Bank, Ruvo du Preez, Carl Foord
Cons: Edwin Gower (2)

Steinhoff Patria: 32
Tries: Awie Engelbrecht, Louis Winter, Maghiel Le Roux, Christo Badenhorst
Cons: Jaswyn Damon (3)
Pens: Jaswyn Damon (2)

Steinhoff Caput: 1. Wilco Kamffer (c), 2. Schalk Wilkinson, 3. Stephan Schoeman, 4. Ian Joubert, 5. Willem Linde, 6. Marcel Burger, 7. Hanno Coetzee, 8. Pieter Coetzer, 9. Visser van der Bank, 10. Jan Labuschagne, 11. Ruvo du Preez, 12. TJ Terblanche, 13. Anker Pretorius, 14. Quinton Beaton, 15. Edwin Gower
Subs: 16. Andrew McNeill, 17. Bradly Blom, 18. Johann Kok, 19. Marthin Deysel, 20. Carl Foord, 21. Eckhart Breet, 22. André Mosterd, 23. Ivan Schutte.

Steinhoff Patria: 1. Martin De Villiers, 2. Christo Badenhorst, 3. Louis Winter, 4. Christopher Durow, 5. Stefan Bergh, 6. Rian Kotze, 7. Awie Engelbrecht, 8. Hendrik Du Plessis (c), 9. Adriaan Labuschagne, 10. Armando Van Wyk, 11. Bennie Genis, 12. Lood Muller, 13. Maghiel Le Roux, 14. Ruco van Niekerk, 15. Jaswyn Damon.
Subs: 16. Jan Louis Senekal, 17. Rikus Le Roux, 18. Albert van Jaarsveld, 19. Burger Minnaar, 20. Elric Pretorius, 21. Corjan Muller, 22. Riaan van der Spuy, 23. Danie Van Zyl

By Raynique Meyer

Related Articles

Back to Top