2016 FNB Varsity Steinhoff Koshuis Rugby

Steinhoff Vishuis beat Steinhoff Patria hook, line and sinker

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, NWU Pukke Koshuis Rugby, Shimlas Koshuis Rugby, Steinhoff KoshuisRugby No Comments on Steinhoff Vishuis beat Steinhoff Patria hook, line and sinker 65

It was Steinhoff Vishuis who owned the afternoon at Xerox Shimla Park as they put Steinhoff Patria on the back foot from the first whistle, handing them a 34-16 defeat.

Wian van der Watt, from the home side, opened the scoreboard as he flew over the line for a comfortable try. Henco Posthumus also contributed with his kicking boot to leave them on 8-0.

Michael Botha also joined the party as he put the ball down in the left corner to claim another try for Steinhoff Vishuis to lead them into halftime with a score of 16-0.

Nevertheless it was JJ van Huyssteen with a superb run from his own half, to put Steinhoff Patria on the board as Jaswyn Damon converted successfully to narrow the gap with a score of 16-8.

Steinhoff Vishuis – with two quick tries by Van der Watt and Dean Bubb – extended the lead for them in the 46 minute, to 29-8.

A few minutes after Bubb’s try it was Botha who followed in the footsteps of Van der Watt as he scored his second try of the match to put Steinhoff Vishuis on 34-8.

Van Huyssteen from Patria went over the tryline for a second time but it was Steinhoff Vishuis who claimed the victory of 34-16.

Steinhoff Patria: 16
JJ van Huyssteen (2)
: Jaswyn Damon (2)

Steinhoff Vishuis: 34
Tries: Wian van der Watt (2), Michael Botha (2), Dean Bubb (1)
Cons: Henco Posthumus (3)

Steinhoff Patria: 15 Luan Kleynhans, 14 Jaswyn Damon, 13 Wilbri Gunter, 12 Brendan du Plessis, 11 JJ van Huyssteen, 10 GM Bruwer, 9 Adriaan Labuschagne, 8 Hendrik du Plessis (c), 7 Elric Pretorius, 6 Cornelius Muller, 5 Stefan Bergh, 4 Mauritz Bezuidenhout, 3 Ruan Groenewald, 2 Jan Hendrik Muller, 1 Almeru van Wyk.

Replacements: 16 Jan Hendrik Grobler, 17 Marthinus de Villiers, 18 Louis Winter, 19 John Douglas Steyn, 20 Awie Engelbrecht, 21 Garann Kriek, 22 Armando van Wyk, 23 Maghiel le Roux.

Steinhoff Vishuis: 15 AJ Brits, 14 Michael Botha, 13 Wian van der Watt, 12 SW van Wyk, 11 Thato Mei, 10 Henco Posthumus, 9 Dean Bubb, 8 Frank Ferreira, 7 Henco Meyers, 6 Nelius van Heerden, 5 Stephen Botha, 4 Charl du Toit, 3 Stefa Burger, 2 Petrus Nienaber, 1 Louis-Martin Cloete.

Replacements:  16 Roelof Strauss, 17 Thornton Ford, 18 Steph Brits, 19 Sihle Diniso, 20 Christiaan Swanepoel, 21 Derick Minnie, 22 Dale de Wet, 23 Morné van Staden.

By Raynique Meyer

Related Articles

Back to Top