Thulani Njenje of UHF and Tame Lixhanti of UFH celebrate after UFH score a try during the 2017 Varsity Shield, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday, 13 February 2017.
FNB UFH vs FNB UWC at Davidson Stadium , Fort Beaufort, Eastern Cape.

Photo by:Deryck Voster/SASPA

UFH fight till the death to earn maiden win against FNB UWC

FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International News, FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International, Fort Hare, UWC No Comments on UFH fight till the death to earn maiden win against FNB UWC 154

The University of Fort Hare earned their first victory of the season, holding off a strong fightback by FNB UWC in Alice on Monday evening to win 32-31.

In was a showcase of Varsity Shield at its best, as the men from FNB UWC drew first blood with a beauty of a try by Kurt-Lee Arendese. FNB UFH were in trouble as captain Zanoxolo Qwele was shown a yellow card.

After the strategy break FNB UWC yet again showed class as they put a try past FNB UFH compliments of Daniel Bock. That’s when FNB UFH began clawing their way back into the game, with four unanswered tries by Sibusiso Sityebi, Zayne Famers, captain fantastic Zanoxolo Qwele and Jeandre Christian, to take the score to 32-14 on the stroke of half time.

The men from Cape Town were eager to make a comeback, and replied with three tries of their own –by Daniel Bock, Kurt-Lee Arendese and one by Andre Manuel. It came down to the boot, and that let them down. A missed conversion saw the men from Cape Town miss an opportunity to win the game.

In the end FNB UFH held off a strong second half comeback attempt by FNB UWC. The fulltime score FNB UFH 32-31 FNB UWC.

FNB Player That Rocks: Somila Jho (FNB UFH)

Jeandre Christian, Zayne Famers, Zanoxolo Qwele, Sibusiso Sityebi
Cons: Jeandre Christian (4)

Tries: Daniel Bock, Kurt-Lee Arendese (3), Andre Manuel
Cons: Aidynn Cupido, Keagan Fortuin

FNB UFH starting XV: 15 Wilfred Bowers, 14 Zayne Farmers, 13 Somila Jho, 12 Xolela Daniels, 11 Sibongile Novuka, 10 Jeandre Christian, 9 Lindokuhle Kenene, 8 Thulani Njenje, 7 Leon Ndlovu, 6 Zanoxolo Qwele, 5 Philisani Ncoko, 4 Sibusiso Sityebi, 3 Bulelani Mdodana, 2 Mkhonto Caku-caku,1 Asiphe Fanele.

Replacements: 16 Lulamile Kama, 17 Lixhanti Tame,18 Chuma  Biyana,19 Sokhana` Mpemba, 20 Qhama  Masiza, 21 siphoxolo Zaula, 22 Luyolo Batshise, 23 Sivuyile  Mdishwa

FNB UWC starting XV: 1 Mzo Buthelezi, 2 Ismaeel Scchroeder 3. Justin Theys 4. Brandon Valentryn 5. Anrich Mostert 6. Shaine Orderson 7. Alwyn Casterns 8. Adrian Paarwater 9. Clayton Daniels 10. Keagen Fortuin 11. Andre Manuel 12. Aidynn Cupido 13. Michaine Fick 14. Kurt-lee Arendese 15. Daniel Bock

Replacements: 16. Ralph Jansen 17. Bradley Jumaatas 18. Curtley Thomas 19. Matthew Le Roux 20. Herchelle Jantjies 21. Hendrik Carstens 22. Rodrick Moses 23. Nathan Cloete

By Kgoboko Kgoboko

Related Articles

Back to Top