2017 Varsity Shield, presented by Steinhoff, FNB and STEERS. Monday 27th February 2017
FNB RHODES vs FNB UFH at Rhodes Great Field, Grahamstown, Eastern Cape.

Jeandre Christian of FNB UFH
Photo by: Stephen Penney/SASPA

Courage in the face of adversity for FNB UFH

FNB Varsity Shield presented by Steinhoff International, Fort Hare No Comments on Courage in the face of adversity for FNB UFH 161

The men from Alice are sure to be switched and ready to “Ruck and Roll” as they play their second last match in what has been a fantastic season.  

“We have not done ourselves justice this year, we have made things very difficult, we have donated points where we shouldn’t have, and lost games that we should have won, so this game is a the final episode in a two-part finale,” said FNB UFH captain Zanoxolo Qwele. “A home win will add more wind to our sails, but that win is not a task for the faint-hearted; it is for those that are willing to have courage in the face of adversity.”

The FNB UFH Blues come from a confidence-boosting win against their neighbours FNB Rhodes. The men from Alice wish to make this year one to remember – one that will be remembered for all the right reasons. With two games remaining, maximum points will be the tune of for the next two weeks.

“We have worked a lot on and off the field and we as the coaching staff trust that all will come together this Monday,” said a very composed coach, Carlos Katywa.

The team from Alice have made two changes with loosehead prop Sivuyile Mdishwa coming into the starting line-up and Sibongile Novuka coming in to start after being away due to an injury.

The men from Alice will face the men from Tshwane, in Alice, where the two will battle it out with the possibility of securing a semi-final spot.

FNB UFH will play FNB TUT at Davidson Rugby Stadium on Monday 6 March at 18:30.

FNB UFH starting XV: 1. Sivuyile Mdishwa, 2. Mkhonto Caku-caku, 3. Bulelani Mdodana, 4. Athenkosi Makeleni, 5. Philisani Ncoko 6. Zanoxolo Qwele, 7. Thulani Njenje, 8. Sibusiso Sityebi, 9. Qhama  Masiza, 10.Jeandre Christian, 11.Sibongile Novuka, 12. Somila Jho, 13. Luyolo Batshise, 15.Wilfred Bowers, 14 Zayne Farmers

Replacements: 16. Litha Magocoba, 17. Lixhanti Tame, 18. Siphosethu Tsotsa, 19. Leon Ndlovu, 20. Lindokuhle Kenene, 21. Xolela Daniels, 22. Siphuxolo Zaula, 23. Asiphe Fanele

By Kgoboko Kgoboko

Related Articles

Back to Top