Madibaz YG jive past Maties

Maties Young Guns, NMMU Young Guns, Young Guns News No Comments on Madibaz YG jive past Maties 617

FNB NMMU-Madobaz Young Guns extended their winning streak to three as they jived their way past FNB Junior Maties 41-16 in a one-sided FNB Varsity Young Guns encounter in Stellenbosch.

Three tries in each half of the match, including a brace from Madibaz captain Jason Baggott, saw the PE students claim their third consecutive bonus point victory and pile on more misery to the winless Junior Maties.

Maties started the stronger of the sides and tasted immediate success as Marko Blom dotted down the first try of the match, It was duly converted by Muller Brink to hand the home side an 8-0 lead after five minutes.

NMMU would soon find their rhythm and two quick tries by wing Athenkosi Mayinje and hooker JP Jamieson saw the PE students take a 10-8 lead into the first Strategy Break. The visitors picked up where they off after the brief interval and James Hall was able to add his name to the try scorers list.

The visitors were reduced to 14-men just before the halftime break when Stephanus Nieuwoudt was given his marching orders for dangerously cleaning out at the breakdown without the use of his arms.

Jason Baggott would hand the visitors their bonus point with a converted try early in the second half to hand the Madibaz a 23-8 lead. James Beyl added try number five for the visitors straight after the second Strategy Break before Baggott grabbed a brace.

Davron Cameron rounded off the one-sided affair when he became NMMU’s sixth try scorer with six minutes remaining in the match. However, Junior Maties would have the last laugh as they grabbed a consolation try through Johann van Niekerk, converted by Chris Smit.


For FNB Junior Maties:
Tries: Blom, van Niekerk
Cons: Smit 2

Tries: Mayinje, Jamieson, Hall, Baggott 2, Beyl, Cameron
Cons: Baggott 2

Yellow card: Stephanus Nieuwoudt (NMMU, 39 – dangerous clean-out)


FNB Junior Maties: 15 Francois Myburg, 14 Viranzo Pipers, 13 Ryan Oosthuizen, 12 Chris Smit, 11 Thomas Jacobs, 10 Muller Brink, 9 Marcke Cilliers, 8 Darius van Staden, 7 Christo van der Merwe, 6 Geor Malan 5 Johan Momsen, 4 Pieter Moolman,3 Ockert Theart, 2 Marko Blom, 1 Peter Boateng.
Replacements: 16 Phillip Jankielson, 17 Kwame Adu, 18 Sebastian Laros , 19 Johann van Niekerk, 20 Louis Storm, 21 Henri du Toit, 22 Romario Abrahams, 23 Johann Zeier.

FNB NMMU Young Guns: 15 Lindelwe Zungu, 14 Martin Keller, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Michael Brink, 11 Athenkosi Mayinje, 10 Jason Baggott (captain), 9 James Hall, 8 Junior Pokomela, 7 Lusanda Badiyana, 6 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 5 Wynand Grassmann, 4 Gerrit Huisamen, 3 Roche Van Zyl, 2 JP Jamieson, 1 Greg Jackson.
Replacements: 16 Tango Balekile, 17 Khoasa Mokhoabane, 18 Wihan Coetzer, 19 Hayden Tharrat, 20 Sibusiso Ngcokovane, 21 Luaan Nieuwoudt, 22 Davron Cameron, 23 James Beyl.

Related Articles

Back to Top