NWU-Pukke Young Guns trample Wits

NWU Pukke Young Guns, WITS Young Guns No Comments on NWU-Pukke Young Guns trample Wits 443

FNB NWU-Pukke Young Guns blew away FNB Wits Young Guns 103-0 in their FNB Young Guns encounter in Johannesburg on Monday.

The youngsters from Potchefstroom led 55-0 at half-time and continued the carnage in the second period of play as they added another 48 points.

NWU-Pukke Young Guns ran in fourteen tries, and converted 11 of them to completely dominate proceedings at a wet UJ Stadium in the pouring rain.

There were braces of tries for right wing Lloyd Greeff and scrumhalf Chriswil September, while left wing Alvino Mondjies and flyhalf Schalk Hugo added further tries in the backline.

The Pukke forward pack enjoyed their evening too as eigthman Jeandre Rudolph, blindside flank Martin Gerber, tighthead prop Jaco Botha and hooker Roche Steenkamp all crashed over the line.

Hooker Thomas Dreyer, prop Kelly Farrel and outside back Myburgh Briers all came off the bench to grab tries of their own.

The kicking duties were shared between Hugo, who kicked six penalties and outside centre Lourens Boddington – who added five conversions of his own.

This is the third game in sucession that the Wits youngsters have shipped a century of points after heavy defeats to UP-Tuks (2-137) and UFS-Kovsies (0-122).

Thankfully for the Under-20s from Johannesburg, their Young Guns fixtures are over for the season and they can nurse their wounds.

Meanwhile for the NWU-Pukke, big clashes lie ahead as they face a three-way fight for two semifinal spots with UP-Tuks and UFS-Kovsies.

The Scorers:

For FNB NWU-Pukke Young Guns:
Tries: Greeff 2, Mondjies, Hugo, September 2, Rudolph, Mabala, Gerber, Botha, Steenkamp, Dreyer, Farrel, Briers
Cons: Hugo 6, Boddington 5

FNB Wits Young Guns: 15 Tsepang Bereng, 14 Ziyanda Khupe, 13 Rhys Conradie, 12 Jarryd Fernandez, 11 Michyle Ford, 10 Kyle Wesseman, 9 Derrin van Ginkel, 8 Greg Pappas, 7 Keegan van der Linde, 6 Sean Dendere, 5 Dandre van den Berg, 4 Matthew Lavis, 3 Marnus Kruger, 2 Danny de Goveria, 1 Lebo Lehganyane.
Replacements: 16 Wazeer Desai, 17 Marcelle Pretorius, 18 Thabang Mnguni, 19 Michael Booyens, 20 Sicelo Blose, 21 James Mngunzi, 22 Malwande Mhame, 23 Ameer Williams.

FNB NWU-Pukke Young Guns: 15 Dries du Plooy, 14 Lloyd Greeff, 13 Lourens Boddington, 12 Akona Nela, 11 Alvino Mondjies, 10 Schalk Hugo, 9 Chriswil September, 8 Jeandre Rudolph, 7 Martin Gerber, 6 Estehan Visagie, 5 Marcus Brand, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Jaco Botha, 2 Roche Steenkamp, 1 Jackson Hulley
Replacements: 16 Thomas Dreyer, 17 Kelly Farrel, 18 Kobus Steyn, 19 Funani Mabala, 20 Francois Nel, 21 Kerneels Swart, 22 Myburgh Briers, 23 Magau Mabokela.

Related Articles

Back to Top