Pukke YG sink Trojans’ dream

Ikeys Young Guns, NWU Pukke Young Guns, Young Guns News No Comments on Pukke YG sink Trojans’ dream 585

FNB NWU-Pukke Young Guns claimed a tough 20-13 victory over FNB UCT Trojans on the Green Mile to end the Cape students’ dream of reaching the final of the FNB Young Guns competition.

It was always going to be a tough task for the Trojans as they required a mammoth victory margin over Pukke to stay in the hunt for a final berth. The victory ensured Pukke finished the campaign above their opponents on the log.

The opening moments of the match was a cagey affair before Gideon van der Merwe got the first points of the match after 10 minutes to hand Pukke the lead before Stefano de Gouveia got the visitor’s second try of the match two minutes later, for a 10-0 lead.

Pukke went down to 14-men as Gideon van der Merwe saw yellow for repeated infringements and the Trojans took full advantage with Aphiwe Qaba crashing over to get the hosts on the board. Shane Fourie converted the try to reduce the deficit to just two points.

The visitors would head into the halftime break with an 18-8 lead after they grabbed their third try of the match, with Siyabonga Masuku grabbing the conversion.

The Trojans hit back after eight minutes of the restart when Qaba grabbed his second try of the match to reduce the deficit to five points. However, Pukke managed to extend their lead to seven points with 10 minutes remaining in the match when Masuku slotted a penalty.

That would be the final points of the match as Pukke claimed their second victory of the competition and end their campaign on a positive note.


For FNB UCT Trojans:
Tries: Qaba, Saffy
Con: Martin

For FNB NWU-Pukke Young Guns:
Tries: van der Merwe, de Gouveia, TBC
Con: Masuku
Pen: Masuku

Yellow card: Gideon van der Merwe (NWU-Pukke YG, 29 – repeated infringements)


FNB UCT Trojans: 15 Karl Martin, 14 Jesse Wilensky, 13 Sebastian Roodt, 12 Evan Frylinck, 11 Ibrahim Adams, 10 Shane Fourie, 9 Stefano de Gouveia (captain), 8 Nyashe Tarusenga, 7 Aphiwe Qaba, 6 Devon Stone, 5 Stuart Stopforth, 4 Duncan Saffy, 3 Alexander Goldstein, 2 Struan Murray, 1 Keagan Timm.
Replacements: 16 Wahl Enslin, 17 Niven Poleman, 18 Jarryd Hayes-Hill, 19 Matthew Andrews, 20 Hishaam Davids, 21 Stefan Zimmerman, 22 Robert Ball, 23 Rayno Mapoe.

FNB NWU-Pukke Young Guns: 15 Gene Willemse, 14 Rudi Pieters, 13 Elden Schoeman, 12 Julian Delicado, 11 Zweli Silaule, 10 Siyabonga Masuku, 9 Elof Scheepers, 8 Tiaan Bezuidenhout (captain), 7 Dolf van Deventer, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Jaco Swannepoel, 4 Joshua van Niekerk, 3 Roan Grobbelaar, 2 Gerrie le Roux, 1 Komape Moloto.
Replacements: 16 Casper Aucamp, 17 Robert Hunt, 18 Wessel Steyn, 19 Francois Jacobs, 20 Eugene Hare, 21 Timothy Prince, 22 Lecander Salies, 23 Thando Magalakangqa.

Related Articles

Back to Top