Kovsies show Wits no mercy

Shimlas Young Guns, WITS Young Guns No Comments on Kovsies show Wits no mercy 347

The FNB UFS Young Guns side showed visitors Wits no mercy in their 122-0 demolition of the Johannesburg side in Bloemfontein on Monday.

Following a narrow opening defeat to defending champions UP-Tuks last week, the Free State side bounced back in impressive style to completely blow Wits away.

They scored 15 tries in total, with flyhalf Warren Potgieter slotting 14 conversions to complete the rout against a stunned Wits outfit.

The tries were fairly evenly spread throughout the squad, with six players grabbing two tries each in what was serious one-way traffic from start to finish.

The home side took control of the game from the outset and were ruthless in the first half as they racked up an imposing 58-0 lead by the half-time break.

It was more of the same in the second half, with Wits not allowed so much as a sniff and the UFS side crossing the tryline regularly.

The visitors simply had no response, and their opponents did not let up, with their last try coming right on the final whistle to give their points difference a major boost.

The scorers:

For FNB UFS Young Guns:
Tries: Ruatenbach 2, Maqina 2, Faber, Jordan 2, Gordon 2, Kriek 2, Meiring 2, Janse van Rensburg, Alberts
Cons: Potgieter 14


FNB UFS Young Guns: 15 Stephen Rautenbach, 14 Vuyani Maqina, 13 Pieter Faber, 12 Pieter Jordaan, 11 Lorenzo Gordon, 10 Warren Potgieter, 9 Zee Makhabela, 8 Andries Kriek, 7 Boela Venter, 6 Steven Meiring, 5 Andre Venter, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Gunter van Vuuren, 2 Anrich Alberts, 1 Petrus Senekal.
Replacements: 16 Reinach Venter, 17 Conrad van Vuuren, 18 Francois Jones, 19 Refuoe Rampetha, 20 Ruben Heymans, 21 Herman Share, 22 Stephan Janse van Rensburg, 23 Ox Nche.

FNB Wits Young Guns: 15 Tsepang Bereng, 14 Ziyanda Khupe, 13 Rhys Conradie, 12 Jarryd Fernandez, 11 Michyle Ford, 10 Kyle Wesseman, 9 Derrin van Ginkel, 8 Greg Pappas, 7 Keegan van der Linde, 6 Sean Dendere, 5 Dandre van den Berg, 4 Matthew Lavis, 3 Marnus Kruger, 2 Danny de Goveria, 1 Lebo Lehganyane.
Replacements: 16 Wazeer Desai, 17 Marcelle Pretorius, 18 Thabang Mnguni, 19 Michael Booyens, 20 Sicelo Blose, 21 James Mngunzi, 22 Malwande Mhame, 23 Ameer Williams.

Related Articles

Back to Top