Tuks YG win spot in final

NMMU Young Guns, Tuks Young Guns, Young Guns News No Comments on Tuks YG win spot in final 557

FNB UP-Tuks recorded an impressive 34-8 win over FNB NMMU Young Guns in the 2015 FNB Varsity Young Guns tournament in Port Elizabeth to book their spot in the final against FNB UFS Young Guns in two weeks’ time.

The young Tuks team achieved their task of winning with a bonus-point and with a margin 14 or more against the young Madibaz to overtake them into second spot. They also denied the PE side from getting any bonus-point, which would have put them out of the race.

UP-Tuks Young Guns opened the scoring in the tenth minute when wing Keanan van Wyk scored a try, which was converted by flyhalf Tinus De Beer to give them an 8-0 lead.

The visitors lead did not last long however, with hooker JP Jamieson getting the try for the young Madibaz with captain and flyhalf Jason Baggott converting to bring the scores level.

The game remained an arm-wrestle until NMMU Young Guns were then handed a huge advantage before half-time when UP-Tuks Young Gun’s replacement Johannes Meintjies got a red carded for dangerous play. Despite this they were still in it with the score at 8-8 at the break.

It was the visitors who made the vital breakthrough in the first ten minutes of the second half when Van Wyk got his second from the wing to give his team a five point lead going into the last half hour.

The margin was soon increased to 21 when flyhalf Tinus de Beer scored and converted his own try before openside flanker Jeandre Swanepoel got the vital bonus-point, with the young Madibaz chance of playing in the final slipping away.

The Up-Tuks Young Guns then put the cherry on top when scrumhalf Impi Visser got his team’s fifth and final try to send them into their fourth straight final and a replay of last year’s against Kovsies.


For FNB NMMU Young Guns:
Try: Jamieson
Con: Baggot

For FNB UP-Tuks Young Guns:
Tries: K Van Wyk 2, De Beer, Swanepoel, Visser
Cons: De Beer 3


FNB NMMU Young Guns: 15 Lindelwe Zungu, 14 Martin Keller, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Michael Brink, 11 Athenkosi Mayinje, 10 Jason Baggott (captain), 9 James Hall, 8 Junior Pokomela, 7 Lusanda Badiyana, 6 CJ Vellerman, 5 Wynand Grassmann, 4 Gerrit Huisamen, 3 Roche Van Zyl, 2 JP Jamieson, 1 Greg Jackson.
Replacements: 16 Tango Balekile, 17 Khoasa Mokhoabane, 18 Wihan Coetzer, 19 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 20 Sibusiso Ngcokovane, 21 Luaan Nieuwoudt, 22 Davron Cameron, 23 James Beyl.

FNB UP-Tuks Young Guns: 15 Philip Orffer, 14 Keanan van Wyk, 13 Peet Schoeman (captain), 12 Franco Naude, 11 Divan Rossouw, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Impi Visser, 8 Luigy van Jaarsveld, 7 Marco van Staaden, 6 Jeandre Swanepoel, 5 Ashton Fortuin, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Jacobus Holtzhauzen, 2 Vuyo Khathide, 1 Xander van Wyk.
Replacements: 16 Alandre van Rooyen, 17 Madot Mabokela, 18 Sam Mitchell, 19 Johannes Meintjies, 20 Stephan Enslin, 21 Brendan Owen, 22 Coneree Poole, 23 Stefaan Grundlingh.

Related Articles

Back to Top