UJ Young Guns destroy Junior Maties

Maties Young Guns, UJ Young Guns, Young Guns News No Comments on UJ Young Guns destroy Junior Maties 397

FNB UJ Young Guns ran rampant when they claimed a 42-5 bonus-point victory over FNB Junior Maties in Johannesburg to close out the round robin fixtures of the FNB Varsity Young Guns.

With both teams out of the running for a place in the Young Guns final, UJ did their institution proud as they ran in three tries in each half to claim their second victory of the campaign which helped them finish the competition in fourth place.

Junior Maties, however, failed to secure a victory in the competition and had to settle for seventh place on the overall log.

UJ were the first to get on the scoreboard when Kyle Kruger crossed the try line early in the encounter with Kobus Engelbrecht making no mistake with the conversion. That lead would be cut soon after when Jamie Joseph got Maties on the board. The try would go unconverted as UJ led 8-5.

The game went into a bit of a lull in the middle of the first half before George Raftopoulus got the home side’s second try of the match with Engelbrecht adding another conversion. Thapelo Rapelwana got UJ’s third try of the match on the stroke of halftime and took a commanding 24-5 lead in the match when Engelbrecht maintained his 100 percent conversion record.

UJ continued their momentum in the second half when Christoff Buys got the bonus-point try early in the second half with Engelbrecht slotting his fourth conversion of the match. Four became five soon after as Ronald Brown added his name to try scorers list to extend the lead to 37-5.

Chris Roelofse joined the action in the second half and got his name on the scoresheet when he added UJ’s sixth try of the match to complete the dominance as UJ claimed an easy victory over their Stellenbosch opponents.


For FNB UJ Young Guns:
Tries: Kruger, Raftopoulus, Bezuidenhout, Buys, Brown, Roelofse
Cons: Engelbrecht 4

For FNB Junior Maties:
Try: Joseph


FNB UJ Young Guns: 15 Jamie Campbell, 14 George Raftopoulus, 13 Godfrey Ramaboea (captain), 12 Lazlo Rabatin, 11 Ronald Brown, 10 Kobus Engelbrecht, 9 Christoff Buys, 8 Jo-Hanco de Villiers, 7 Derick Bezuidenhout, 6 Thapelo Rapelwana, 5 Estian Enslin, 4 Driaan Bester, 3 Kyle Kruger, 2 Pieter Jansen, 1 Siya Nzuzo.
Replacements: 16 Chris Roelofse, 17 Roelof Diedericks, 18 Wayne Pearson, 19 Kevin Du Randt, 20 Banele Ngwenya, 21 Forrest Ross, 22 Sheldon de Robillards, 23 Mcmillan Muller.

FNB Junior Maties: 15 Pierre du Toit, 14 Jamie Joseph, 13 Thomas Jacobs, 12 Chris Smit, 11 James Murphy, 10 Muller Brink, 9 Brendon Nell, 8 Christo Smit, 7 Johan Momsen, 6 Geor Malan 5 Stephen Streicher, 4 Sebastian Laros,3 Kwame Adu, 2 Phillip Jankielson, 1 Riaan Sutherland.
Replacements: 16 Fanie de Kock, 17 Anthonie de Beer, 18 Heinrich van Dyk , 19 Alessandro Napoli, 20 Louis Storm, 21 Veranzo Pipers, 22 Caleb Petersen, 23 Johann Zeier.

Related Articles

Back to Top